LIFE · LIKES · LOVE

The Moment to Witness!

This is by far the very best memory I have ever witnessed in my whole life!

When Team Explore engaged in global missions trip for 8 days in Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos and Thailand last May 2016, we were so privileged to impart Jesus to some (or least) of the people in those countries. But what struck my heart most was when a Buddhist enthusiastically accepted our “Gift”.

When half of our team (including me) was left behind the entrance gate of the Angkor Wat while others went on tour of the place, 

our pastor shared a story (the Gospel) to the Tuktuk driver named Soviet who accompanied us. We asked how is his life and his belief. We also asked what will happen to their souls when they die. He replied that he really do not know. He only grew up knowing Buddhism as their religion.

And so our pastor asked him if we could share to him about our God. He told him about the creation of the world, the fall of man, and the Gift of Eternal Life. I could still remember his face when he heard the life story of Jesus. His eyes were in amazement. Until such time that he asked, “Can I share to my family? I want them to know.”

That moment, my heart was crushed. I could not believe even if I already knew that there are still many people who do not know Jesus. I could burst into tears if I haven’t controlled myself.

We were filled with joy hearing his response. Then our pastor asked him if he would accept Jesus as his personal Lord and Savior, he replied with a big Yes! And so our pastor led him to sinners prayer. One soul have come to receive eternal life. And the angels of heaven were celebrating with us!


From that day on, my view of Christian life has changed. I mean I grew up as a pre-believer, knowing Jesus but has no intimate relationship with him, I just heard and know Him by name. But when I received Him as my personal Lord and Savior, my life has changed radically. And this young man, he doesn’t even know His name yet when he heard how He suffered for him, he came to know Him, and then accepted him.

I may have gone through a lot of troubles after that trip, but it never remained. God has really put that memory inside my heart for me to know what really is my purpose, to pray for the unreached and to share in the Gospel. Only God knows I have an unfinished task left there, and where it has left.

Today, I challenged myself in praying for the unreached of all nations through the leading of the Holy Spirit. And I also even praying that God would allow me to come back again to really witness to the unreached even just for a little while (short term to long term goal).

I do not know what is going on with the life of Soviet right now but I am praying that God has given him family that led him to knowing Jesus more and to intimately experience His presence.

And for all this, God be exalted in the name of Jesus!

Leave a Reply

